Lethargy

My writing friend Damyanti wrote of Writing Blues:  http://damyantiwrites.wordpress.com/2011/05/17/of-writing-blues-and-lalwant-singh/ (my linking skills leave a lot to be desired).   This was extremely timely as I seem to have got myself into a writing funk at the moment:  I’ve posted 3 times in 3 weeks since the A-Z challenge – I don’t even know how I posted every day then; I’ve barely written anything in my notebook; and I now have two dreams floating around in my head that I must put onto paper.  Then there is the looming deadline for a writing competition that, if I don’t enter into, I will kick myself for being so lazy AND I haven’t read a book for two weeks.  Isn’t that terrible?  Reading is important.  Reading is wonderful and I haven’t done it.

Why the lethargy?  I’m not sure really, but, I am tired and a bit busy at the moment and when I’m tired I feel that anything I write would not be remotely interesting to anyone else.  Consequently I have lots of blog drafts that even I got bored with and have left unfinished.

I don’t read because I think I should be writing instead (and yes, I know that reading is an essential part of writing) and I like to be able to concentrate on my book.  So I try to have a nap but then I find I can’t sleep because I’m thinking I should be writing, reading or getting on top of those other things that are keeping me busy at the moment.

If only I could get to bed earlier.  To get to bed earlier however, I have to be organised and I am not organised.  At all.

Whining much?  You betcha.

And so it is that I am venting to you dear readers in the hope that I shame myself into being more productive.  Stay tuned to see if it works.

If nothing else, it’s galvanised me into writing this post really quickly before I have to pick up the screaming child from her cot where she is refusing to sleep.

There’s always something blocking your way isn’t there?  How do you get around it?

4 Comments on “Lethargy”

  1. Graywolfie says:

    Oh..me too..I don’t know how I managed to post so much in April..haha..! Think I posted less than 15 times May..& I’ve not been reading much too..
    Maybe we did too much in April & needed to take a break in May..hopefully we’ll be posting more in June..*smile*

    • ExpatGab says:

      I’m back on track Graywolfie. Or at least that’s what I’m telling myself. I think I’ll try and be the little red engine for the rest of June and see if I can get myself up the hill. Wanna be a train with me? 😛

  2. Josie says:

    I could have written this post! I almost wonder if I pushed myself too hard for the A-Z challenge and got a bit burned out. There are so many ideas on my list of things to write about, but finding the energy, motivation, and time has been hard. It seems like life has a way of tugging me away from my first loves… writing and reading. Still I refuse to be hard on myself for not blogging, I know when the spirit moves me the words will come. I’m sure they will for you as well!

    • ExpatGab says:

      Oh I hear you Josie. But you know what, I just got out all my notebooks and read through a large portion of my half finished stories, essays, etc and it has inspired me again. I’ve decided to type them up and post them on my blog in order to feel productive (I know it’s cheating a bit). It might make me feel like I’m neglecting my blog less and I can concentrate on my short stories more.


Leave a Reply

