A to Z Blogging Challenge: A is for After

A is for After.  I’ll write something today after I drop the five year old at school.  I’ll just have a cup of tea and then I’ll write something after that.  I’ll get onto my writing straight after I play with the baby.  I know I said I’d write after I put S into bed for a nap, but I need to do some shopping for tonight’s tea.  Oh look how the day has flown!  It’s time to pick up J from school.  Then I’ll go home and get S and go out for a play and a swim and tire the kids out and we can order pizza for tea – it’s Friday night and I’ll save the stuff I bought today for tomorrow night instead.  I’ll write something after we put the kids to bed.  I won’t have time beforehand.

Right girls into bed, no don’t whinge.  Yes it is bedtime.  No, you cannot have dessert tonight.  Well it’s late for one thing and you just had pizza so we can save the icecream for another night.  Tomorrow night.  Okay?  Right.  Upstairs.  Oh, you can walk.  I know you’re tired but you’re too big for me to carry.  Come on now, up the stairs.  Here, hold my hand and we can walk up together.  Daddy will bring the baby up.  Okay.  Into bed.  Yes that’s a great witches hat, now take it off and get into bed.  No, I don’t know where that doll’s shoe is.  You don’t even play with that doll!  Look!  You know what?  Put the doll down, take the hat off and get into bed.  Did I bring up your water?  I’ll bring it up after I say goodnight to the baby.  Goodnight sweetheart.

Okay S where are you?  Time to say goodnight.  You don’t want to go to bed?  You want to go outside?  No, it’s bedtime.  No, you can’t go outside, it’s time for bed.  Please stop yelling at me, you need to go to bed.  Put your head on my shoulder and stop crying.  Come on now.  No, bed time.  Twinkle twinkle little star.  Better now?  Okay, into bed.  Good night sweetheart.

Mum?  Mum?  Did you get my water?

Not yet.  I’m getting it now.  Why are you crying?  What do you mean you’re bored?  You’re bored with everything?  Like what?  Oh, doing dot to dot at school.  What else?  Oh, school lunches and the food we have here in the house?  I see.  Anything else?  Just everything.  Well, I can see how that would upset you.  Tomorrow we can organise things for your birthday party tomorrow, that will be fun.  You might even get a game for your birthday and then we can have a family games night if you want?  Oh, you want to do it with your friends?  We can try and do that one afternoon I guess.  Let me see, you have one more week until school holidays and we can do some exciting things then.  After the holidays you start gymnastics and you join the sporty girls club on Saturdays which means that you will be doing lots of things so you won’t be so bored then will you?  Alright sweet pea.  Good night.

Heading downstairs I realise that I’ve got to start that writing challenge.  I really want to have a crack at it.  I’ll write it after I get J her water.

Luckily for me my husband takes the water back upstairs for J.  I grab myself a drink and sit down with my laptop.  It’s been a long week and after all that I’m tired.

How am I going to start this challenge?  What shall I write about?

5 Comments on “A to Z Blogging Challenge: A is for After”

  1. TS Hendrik says:

    I loved this post. The narrative was very captivating.

    • ExpatGab says:

      Thanks TS. It’s great to hear your feedback. Ive checked out your blog and love your idea for this challenge. I’ll be checking back in for sure.

  2. I loved, loved, loved this entry. My two boys are grown now, but boy you just took me back. There were many years I wanted to just write, but it was always AFTER. I am so fortunate that, for the time being, I can write 7 days a week if I want to. At the end of the day, family is important, and those times – even those trips back and forth for something as simple as a drink of water – will never come again.

    • ExpatGab says:

      Hi Wendy, Thanks for your comments, I’m glad you liked my post. You are so right about family and often, in my frustration, I do have to remind myself that my days of being needed so much are numbered. Soon my girls will be big and they will think me old and boring 🙂

  3. Damyanti says:

    I hear you Gab.

    This was a wonderful post, and even though I’m not a mother, I can feel you, and the pain of “after”. Good job.


Leave a Reply

